Wednesday, May 22, 2024
May 22, 2024

NSSWD election: Pyper, Courtney win seats

With all votes cast, Brian Pyper and David Courtney have been elected to serve on the North Salt Spring Waterworks District (NSSWD) board of trustees.  

The results were announced by CAO Mark Boysen to about a dozen attendees at NSSWD’s Annual General Meeting held Thursday, May 2 at Community Gospel Chapel.  

Pyper, an incumbent, received 464 votes; Courtney received 311. Candidate Bryce Chapman received 229 votes. 

Among 3,140 eligible voters, Boysen said, 548 returned ballots — 538 mailed in, and 10 in-person.  

Sign up for our newsletter and stay informed

Receive news headlines every week with our free email newsletter.

Other stories you might like

Developers ask to join Fulford Water System

Planners for a new development at the site of the former Fulford Inn are asking Fulford Water System (FWS) commission members to recommend the...

LCC disburses grants-in-aid

Salt Spring officials anguished over community funding last week, as requests exceeded the available budget — and tough decisions were hammered out.  The island’s Local...

Library’s Truth & Reconciliation efforts earn award

Salt Spring Island Public Library has been recognized for its Truth and Reconciliation work through a British Columbia Library Association (BCLA) award. Library director Karen...

Editorial: Missing terminal upgrade piece

If good things come to those who wait, we were hopeful that whatever was coming to the neighbourhood around the Vesuvius Bay ferry terminal...


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here