Wednesday, June 12, 2024
June 12, 2024

Driftwood gets five B.C. award nominations

The Driftwood has been nominated for five B.C. and Yukon Community Newspapers Association awards.

Marc Kitteringham’s No Direction Home web and in-print story about the housing crisis on Salt Spring is up for a multimedia feature story award. Elizabeth Nolan’s two-part series about the maturing of Salt Spring’s arts community is nominated for an arts writing award, and a series on freighters anchoring in the Gulf Islands written by Gail Sjuberg is nominated for environmental writing.

The Driftwood is also a finalist in the community service category for its Greening Salt Spring clean-up campaign, which was spearheaded by Nolan.

First, second and third-place prizes will be announced at the April 27 Ma Murray Awards gala in Richmond. All entries were published in the 2018 calendar year.

Additionally, Kitteringham is one of three winners in the inaugural New Journalist of the Year Award, based on the submission of five samples of work and a recommendation letter.

Ma Murray Awards finalists were announced on March 1.

Sign up for our newsletter and stay informed

Receive news headlines every week with our free email newsletter.

Other stories you might like

Day in the Life shoot day on June 22

It’s time for the Driftwood’s annual Day in the Life of Salt Spring Island photo shoot, and everyone is invited to contribute. This year marks...

Driftwood holiday story contest winners named

If our readers have heard rumours about the decline and fall of literacy among today’s youth, they were proven false by this year’s Driftwood...

Christmas on Salt Spring activities bring community together for the holiday season

The Christmas season is well underway on Salt Spring Island, with the island’s Chamber of Commerce helping everyone get into the spirit of the...

Driftwood wins four national newspaper awards

The Gulf Islands Driftwood was honoured with four top-three awards in a “post-Covid” edition of the Canadian Community Newspaper Awards (CCNA).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here